Board of Trustees

The Hudson Montessori School Board of Trustees is responsible for the overall stewardship of Hudson Montessori School, including establishing the strategic direction, policies and plans to ensure the school's future well being. 

HMS Board of Trustees & Head of School - 
Their Roles and Responsibilities

Strategic Decision - Board Decision with Advice of Head
This includes school mission, financial security/integrity, and strategic planning.

Shared Decision - Led by Head with Board involvement
This includes budget, enrollment projections, facilities planning, financial policies, and development.

Head's Decision (Operations) - Head's realm/Board informed
This includes admissions, curriculum, program, staffing, and systems.

The Board currently consists of individuals who have a wide range of talents in various disciplines: financial, legal, human resources, business management, maintenance & construction, marketing, education and public relations.  All potential Board members are required to demonstrate a high level of commitment to the school prior to being invited to serve on the Board. Board members serve a two-year term, with a maximum of three terms, for a total tenure of six years.

2017-2018 Board of Trustees:

Dan Egleston, President
Michelle Smith, Vice President
Shawn Berthelot, Treasurer
Katarina Dempsey
Matt Gerber
Amy Held
Nancy Hovan
Bret Hrivnak
Marj Jacobs-Resnick
Heidi Johnson
Lauren King
Kelly MacLean
Desiree Perry

A major role for the Board is to approve and monitor a strategic plan.  In 2014, the Board approved a strategic plan.  In 2017-2018, Hudson Montessori School will be establishing a new strategic plan that will guide our school in the near future.

For more information or to contact the HMS Board of Trustees, email

Hudson Montessori School

7545 Darrow Road
Hudson, Ohio 44236

Contact Us & Directions

powered by finalsite